Maybe some of you have already got warning emails from Twitter if you have not been active for a while. The warning mentions that you should sign in by December 11th, or your account will be deleted, and username could be taken by someone else. Accounts that have not been active for more than six months are receiving such warnings.
“As part of our commitment to serve the public conversation, we’re working to clean up inactive accounts to present more accurate, credible information people can trust across Twitter. Part of this effort is encouraging people to actively log-in and use Twitter when they register an account, as stated in our inactive accounts policy,” a spokesperson has tole The Verge. “We have begun proactive outreach to many accounts who have not logged into Twitter in over six months to inform them that their accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity.”
It is not clear when deleted usernames will be available to existing usernames. It is a procedure which will happen over several months. Do not be expecting a username rush on the 12th of December.