EU to close external borders for 30 days

The EU is locking its borders with all other countries. German Chancellor Angela Merkel, declared on March 17th, that for non-essential travel all international borders for countries in the community will close for 30 days. People in the 27 EU Member States will still be able to fly between European countries, but restrictions will be imposed and Europeans who are stranded abroad will be repatriated.

Those who return home may be forced to separate themselves from their families for two weeks, probably. Health staff, medicine and goods will not be limited across international borders. The rules begin whenever the different national governments are able to schedule themselves, which can be as soon as the day ends in Germany today.

The EU includes countries especially affected by the new coronavirus COVID-19, which are Spain, Italy, France and Germany. This decision followed the announcement yesterday made by Canadian Premier Justin Trudeau that he would close the border of his country to all but Canadians and U.S. residents. President Donald Trump restricted travel into the nation from all European countries last week. Originally, Trump exempted the UK and Ireland, but a couple of days later he broadened the ban. Several other countries have restricted travel abroad and also restricted the domestic movement of their own people. The COVID-19 pandemic has forced governments not only to facilitate local social distancing but also to restrict the number of people who are coming into their countries so that the virus will stop spreading. Closing Europe’s borders is also one of the most significant aspects of this policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *